Rainy Days and a Harry Potter Bar

It’s rainy and humid and hot. It’s not quite the fall day I was hoping for. It feels more like the rainforest than a mid-atlantic city in late October. Hopefully, it’ll cool off a bit this weekend and feel a bit more seasonal.

IMG_4204

But today was going to be an exciting day. Town Tavern in Shaw apparently transforms into Potters Tavern during October, and I just had to check it out. I guess it’s something they do every October, but I didn’t know that. So yea.. I may have walked through the misty grossness that had descended upon the city for at least half an hour. But I did make it.

IMG_4208

Okay, so first we stopped at a Turkish restaurant, because it’s important to be nourished before visiting the tavern. I wasn’t really feeling pub food. Not that there’s anything wrong with it. it was more that I kind of wanted a meal. Anyway, this Turkish place was pretty amazing. I don’t remember the name of it, so that’s unfortunate. But if you’re ever in the area of Town Tavern, it’s about a block from there. They also had amazing mojitos, which to be honest seemed like a strange thing to excel at, but it seemed to be working for them.

IMG_4209

We finally made it to the tavern and hung out for a bit. It was definitely much more DIY-ish than I was expecting, but not in a bad way. It was kind of cozy and laid back. It was really nice, but not like a super in-your-face Harry Potter experience. The drinks were pretty good. Strong. But good. I can’t complain about that. Also, the Goblet of Fire glowed. It looks like it’s on fire!

IMG_4203

Leave a comment